13 October 2010

Davao Football - Davao booters in Alaska Cup

WHEN the 2010 Alaska Cup Football Festival kicks off in November, the best young booters in the country converge again to show their skills at the Alabang Country Club in Ayala Alabang Village, Muntinlupa City.

Not to be left behind are players from Davao City, specifically from the Ateneo de Davao University (AdDU), who are just determined to match their wares against the best in the country for two straight days, from November 13 to 14.

The fighting Ateneo de Davao won last year's 12-under crown, the third straight time it had done so in the category of the multi-division tournament.

Ateneo, starring Anna Aguilo and Mica Corrales, stunned Mirriam College in the championship showdown, 2-1, to wrap up the title.

Aside from Aguilo and Corrales, playing for the triumphant 12-under squad that time were Janna Barcemo, Kyra Dimaandal, Nina Arrieta, Alyanna Alovera, Bea Dongon, Kyra Paronda, Bea Panganiban, Therese Reyes and goalkepper Gabby del Fierro. The team was coached by Reynalyn Ravanes.

It was a double celebration of sorts for Ateneo after Barcemo was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player.

Bannering this year's team will be Corrales, Dongon, Panganiban, Sanaa Jikiri, Patricia Francisco, Hannah Sindao, Thea Pilay, Bam Adao, Mia Co, Inah Rosales and Kyra Paronda.

The team will be competing under the name Ateneo de Davao United this time.

Davao will also be competing in other divisions such as 8-under, 10-under, 14-under and 16-under both in the girls' and boys' sides.

There will also be the Men's Open and the Ladies' Open divisions. (CRAM)

Sun Star Davao

No comments:

Post a Comment