26 April 2013

SHS-Hijas bags 1st title in Bro Cup

Saturday, April 27, 2013
THE Sacred Heart School - Hijas de Jesus (SHS-HDJ) Phoenix FC after collared its first title in the Boys 12 in the first day of the Bro Nationals Football Festival yesterday at the Aboitiz Sports Field.
Tamtam Colina’s long strike surprised The Sayson Group (TSG) FC, 1-0, to give them the title after ending a thrilling round-robin matches with Don Bosco Technical Center (DBTC) 2012.
Earlier that day, Colina also won the juggling contest for the Boys 12 category.
Phoenix FC, TSG FC and DBTC 2012 topped the three groups of the 14-team Boys 12 division but DBTC lost its shot of the title after it suffered two straight loses, 1-0, through an own goal against TSG FC and a 2-0 shootout loss against Phoenex.
The boys of Phoenix FC, handled by head coach University of Southern Philippines skipper Aljun Armamento, consist mostly of former players from Dinamo FC.
Armamento said that it was a good time for the players to finally stamp a win after joining many tournaments. The team, founded June 2012, failed to advance to the knockout stages of the Aboitiz Cup and Thirsty Cup but this time, they had a different ending.
In the Boys 19, it was an all University of San Carlos showdown between USC and its sister team Pocket Monster.
USC banked on Roy Melgo and Yves Caballero to win the shootout, 2-1, after being held to a scoreless draw in regulation.
Bro 1999, backed by DBTC players, edged Danao Sure FC, 1-0, to win the Boys 14 title.
Bro FC routed Canduman FC in the semis, 5-0, while Danao eliminated Dipolog FC in a shootout, 3-1, in the other semis.
In the Players 10, USC-BED bagged another title after topping the round robin matches, beating runner-up San Carlos FC and DBTC-A.
DBTC-A also won four matches to rule the Players 8 division, with CIE Tacloban bagging second place.
The Executive 36 category was trimmed to three teams after San Roque FC and Cebu Union backed out, leaving Jeh United, consisting of DBTC alumni players, Erco FC and Samaritan FC to face off for the title.
Jeh United won after dominating the round robin, while Erco FC finished second.
Today, the festival will continue with matches in the Players 7 and 9, Boys 11, 13, 15 and 17, Girls 17 and Executive 42 divisions.

Published in the Sun.Star Cebu newspaper on April 27, 2013.

No comments:

Post a Comment