09 April 2012

Medvil Davao nips Comval, 2-1

By Marianne L. Saberon-Abalayan

Monday, April 9, 2012

HOST Davao Football Association, represented by Medvil Football Club, nipped visiting Compostela Valley (Comval), 2-1, on Sunday at the start of their home-and-away encounter in the resumption of the PFF-Suzuki U23 Mindanao Qualifying at the rain-soaked Tionko field.

David Angelo Diamante, in a breakaway from the midfield, struck Medvil-Davao's first goal in the 44th minute but Comval scored on a penalty goal in the 65th to level the match, 1-1. Imardino Polo, however, blasted the winning goal via a long shoot some 40 yards away from the goal in the 80th.

Medvil Davao coach Ramonito "Lalas" Carreon, in text messages to Sun.Star Davao, said it was a very tight game. They made 10 attempts during the first half but only one goal was converted.

"Kusog sila karon kay halos ilang players ga-eskwela sa Far Eastern University ug uban nagadula sad diri sa Davao. Na dominate namo ang game pero dili namo ma convert ang mga attempts (Comval's line-up is stronger than their roster last year since most of their players are studying at FEU while others have also been playing here in the city. We dominated the game but we couldn't convert our many attempts at the goal)," Carreon said.

He joked that it's FEU they are playing against and not Comval anymore.

He admitted though that Comval is not an ordinary team, adding in the vernacular: "We expect them to avenge their loss at their home turf and that's what we will be preparing ourselves for."

Medvil Davao will next host Davao del Norte Football Association (Danofa) on April 29 also at Tionko field. Carreon's wards routed Danofa, 6-1, in their first clash at Tagum's E-Park football field.

The multi-titled coach will also rely on Roelfred Napuran, Jomar Acedo, Marlon Demapanag, Dominador Tato IV, Roeder Stephen Ignacio, Dean Mark Galleto, Sean Clarke Labang, Renz Rhey Napuran, Renelle Pino, Mark Paul Dayanan, Khadafi Biruar, Roland Manabit, Frances Jay Abrasaldo, Gabriel Derrico Diamante, Patrick Asoque, Jay Francis Abalunan, Jacinth Ibanez, Raymon Paredo, Yoshiharu Koizumi, Jestoni Felipe, Jerrard Bierneza, Michael Pantojan, Danilo Lascuna Jr. and Amani Aguinaldo.

Alvic Troyo and Michael Jay Fernandez will assist Carreon in coaching the squad that is poised to advance to the Mindanao finals that they topped last year.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on April 10, 2012.

No comments:

Post a Comment