17 February 2014

San Beda wins 4th straight NCAA men’s football title


MANILA, Philippines — San Beda seized its fourth straight NCAA men’s football championship after a 2-0 shutout of Arellano Monday at the ASCOM pitch in Taguig.
Raffy Cabug, the league’s MVP, fittingly opened up the scoring for the Red Booters in the ninth minute.
San Beda, which went unbeaten in nine matches, doubled its lead in the 69th minute on a penalty kick off a costly foul by Arellano keeper Mark Baldo to cap its victory.
The Chiefs couldn’t do much with the Red Booters’ stifiling defense. San Beda also came out aggressive that kept Arellano on its heels.
With another crown in hand, San Beda tied former NCAA member La Salle for the most number of football titles in the seniors division with 21.
Meanwhile, Lyceum edged College of St. Benilde, 1-0, to finish in third place. The Pirates’ finish is their highest since joining the league in 2011.
Arellano’s Alvin Obero took home the recognition of being the Top Goalscorer in Season 89 while teammate Pino Cristituto was named Best Midfielder. San Beda’s Jim Ashley Flores bagged the Best Striker award, Lyceum’s Mandie Boy Lunag was the Best Defender and CSB’s Bayan Ronilo was the Best Goalkeeper.

No comments:

Post a Comment