25 February 2015

11 teams for AFF Futsal 2015

KUALA LUMPUR (25 Feb 2015) – After a hiatus of 13 years, Singapore will make a return to the AFF Futsal Championship this year which will be held in Indonesia on 8-18 October.
The last time Singapore took part in the AFF Futsal Championship was way back in the inaugural year of the championship on 2001 that was held in Kuala Lumpur with just five teams taking part.
The five teams were hosts Malaysia, Thailand, Philippines, Singapore and Brunei.
Incidentally, Singapore made the final of the meet that year before losing to Thailand.
The AFF Futsal Championship 2015 gained further importance considering that it will also be used as the qualifying venue for the AFC Futsal Championship in 2016.
Only the top three teams will make the cut for the AFC event to be held in China.
With the inclusion of Singapore, this year’s meet will see the most number of teams taking part in the championship with 11. Only Cambodia have abstained from taking part.
GROUP A: Thailand, Indonesia, Timor Leste, Brunei DS, Malaysia, Singapore
GROUP B: Australia, Vietnam, Laos, Myanmar, Philippines

No comments:

Post a Comment