28 March 2013

Chieffy Caligdong , Azkals earn nominations for inaugural for AFF awards

Karl Decena, InterAKTV ·

Some members of the Philippine national men’s football team have received nominations for the inaugural ASEAN Football Federation (AFF) Awards, an award-giving body which recognizes the best in the Southeast Asian football scene.
Team captain Chieffy Caligdong was named as one of the AFF Player of the Year nominees alongside Teerasil Dangda of Thailand, Shahril Ishak of Singapore and Kyi Lin of Myanmar.
Azkals coach Hans Michael Weiss also got nomination for the AFF Coach of the Year award together with Radojko Avramovic of Singapore, Winfried Schaefer of Thailand and Datuk K. Rajagopal of Malaysia.
The Azkals also made it as one of the nominees for the AFF National Team of the Year, which also features fellow 2012 Suzuki Cup semifinalists Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia.
The Philippine Football Federation, along with the rest of the region’s football associations, is also included in the list of nominees for the AFF Association of the Year award.
“In recent years, ASEAN football has cultivated some serious talent, and the region is growing as a football powerhouse,” AFF President Sultan Haji Ahmad Shah said in a statement.
“We are gaining traction at a global level, and the time is right to honour the men and women who have dedicated their lives to the evolution and honour of the world’s most popular sport.”
Winners will be chosen based on their performances during the Suzuki Cup last year as well as other sanctioned matches and competitions.
The inaugural AFF Awards is slated on April 3 in Pahang, Malaysia.

No comments:

Post a Comment