24 August 2012

Bacolod United, Jakalz post opening wins in VFL

By Jerome S. Galunan Jr.
Last season’s runner-up Bacolod United FC and Jakalz booked their first winson Saturday in the opener of the 2nd Visayas Football League (VFL)/Gov. Alfredo G. Marañon Jr. Cup at the Panaad Park and Stadium in Barangay Mansilingan, Bacolod City.
Bacolod United demolished Kabankalan City FC, 10-1 in Division 1 behind Jimuel Ariola, Carlo Tacusalme and Marcelo Desucatan’s pairs of goals.
Kabankalan FC had the first nodwith Paul Dionzon nailing the match’s first goal in the very 1st minute of the game for a 1-nil lead. But, striker Ariola opened Bacolod United’s scoring tally with a goal in the 3rd minute as Tacusalme sent two consecutive goals in the 11th and 15th minutes of the match whileDesucatan converted another in the 18th minute for a 4-1 advantage.
Eight minutes later, Joven Bedic joined Bacolod United scoring after hitting a goal in the 26th minute as Desucatan scored his second in the 36th minute and Jalsor Soriano scored the team’s seventh goal with one minute injury time to give his team a 7-1 lead at the break.
The southern squad tried to improve their offense and tightened their defense in the second half but it was not enough as the Bacolod United broke the lane for more goals in the later part of the match.
In the 74th minute, Ariola scored his second and his team’s eighth goal as Nicolas Kalalang and Gregg Gustilo nailed two goals in the 84th and 89th minutes to seal the win.
In the second match, Jakalz blasted Escalante City FC in Division 2, 5-1. Last year’s “Golden Boot Awardee” Jayme Poderoso led Jackalz alongside John Winston with pairs of goals.
Poderoso, as expected, played aggressive in the opening minutes of the match as he nailed his team’s first goal in the 17th minute to post 1-nil lead.
However, Daniel Ramos evened the match as he scored in the 36th minute to end the half at 1-goal apiece. Both squads tightened their respective defenses as they prevented any goal attempt from both ends.
But in the 54th minute, Michael Pacite stunned the Escalante back four as he sliced though the defense to nail Jackalz’s second goal. Ahead by a goal, Jackalz gained the momentum as Poderoso sent another goal in the 56th minute as the squad extended their lead at 3-1.
With the time winding up, John Winston scored two more goals in the 85th and 90th minute to end the match with 4 goals difference. A total of 19 teams are competing in two divisions of the 2ndVFL/Gov. Alfredo G. Marañon Jr. Cup.
Ten squads are competing in Division 1, led by reigning first runner-up Bacolod United, Sagay City FC, Real Negrense FC, Atletico Bago FC, Minuluan Talisay FC, Football Club de La Carlota, Don Bosco Alumni, Cadiz City FC and Kabankalan City FC.
Meanwhile, nine teams battle each other in Division 2, namely, Magallon United FC, Escalante City FC, Victorias City FC, Silver Dragon FC, Bank of Philippine Islands FC, Jakalz FC, Football Club de Bacolod and Bat-us./

No comments:

Post a Comment