25 April 2011

Medvil bags football crown

MEDVIL Football Club added another feather in its cap after bagging the Ebocci-Davao Premiere League Finals crown following a 2-1 win over Columbia at the Tionko football grounds on Sunday afternoon.

Joey Arobo and Jomar Acedo scored the goals--in the 52nd and 67th minutes, respectively--to power Medvil past Columbia whose lone goal scorer was Aldin Tiboron.

Columbia settled for the runner-up honors while WT-FM grabbed the third spot by beating Hooligans FC, 2-0. The latter finished fourth in the event presented by Ebocci and organized by the Davao Football Association.

The top four teams received trophies from Ebocci team manager Regie Ozimms during the awarding ceremony that was also graced by Columbia team manager Edward "Chaya" Lim, Medvil team manager Rafael "Pops" Vilela, tournament commissioner Noel Presto and DFA general secretary Erwin Protacio.

Ozimms cited the growing interest of youth players who have already been playing against senior footballers.

Protacio, in an e-mailed statement, said most players of champion team Medvil will compose the Davao City team that will see action in the Mindanao Regionals of the PFF-Suzuki U23 Championships on April 28 to 30 and in the PFF Smart Club Championship on May 4 to 6.

The Davao U 19 team, meanwhile, will compete in a tournament in Camp Phillips, Bukidnon on April 27 to 29.

Published in the Sun.Star Davao newspaper on April 26, 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment