06 June 2023

PFF NEWS – Philippine Men’s National Team

 The Philippine Football Federation is pleased to welcome Hans Michael Weiss back for a second stint as head coach of the Philippine Men’s National Team.

Weiss returns to coach the Philippine Men’s National Team, close to 10 years after his contract ended in January 2014.

Weiss has had spells coaching in Romania with first division club Otelul Galati and the national teams of Mongolia (2017-2020) and Laos (2022-2023).

Weiss will immediately buckle down to work with the PHI MNT playing friendly matches against Nepal on 15 June 2023 and Chinese-Taipei on 19 June 2023. Both matches will be played at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

“We are delighted to welcome coach Weiss back to the PHI MNT,” said PFF president Mariano “Nonong” Araneta.

Weiss was in charge of 44 matches for the Philippines from 2011 to 2013, winning 21, drawing 11 and losing 12.

A third place finish in the AFC Challenge Cup in 2012 and a semifinal appearance in the AFF Championship in the same year counts as his best achievements during his time in charge.

“He has kept the Philippines close to his heart and continues to be a well-respected figure by players and staff,” Araneta said of Weiss.

“He has also gained valuable experience over the past decade that will help him in his return to the Philippines. We are hopeful that his second opportunity to the team will be more successful than the first.”

The PFF has also invited the following players for training camp and the friendly matches this month.

  1. Neil Etheridge
  2. Patrick Deyto
  3. Julian Schwarzer
  4. Amani Aguinaldo
  5. Jesper Nyholm
  6. Carlie De Murga
  7. Martin Steuble
  8. Daisuke Sato
  9. Santiago Rublico
  10. Jesse Curran
  11. Marco Casambre
  12. Mike Ott
  13. Manny Ott
  14. Oskari Kekkonen
  15. Sandro Reyes
  16. Hikaru Minegishi
  17. Dylan De Bruycker
  18. Kevin Ingreso
  19. Patrick Reichelt
  20. OJ Porteria
  21. Jared Peña
  22. Chester Gio Pabualan
  23. Andres Aldeguer
  24. Kenshiro Daniels
  25. Bienvenido Marañon
  26. Jarvey Gayoso

No comments:

Post a Comment