20 December 2011

BUFC-Goshen top players feted

UFC Goshen eked out a hard earned win Sunday morning defeating visiting Dolphins United in a penalty shootout, 4-3, to win the championship in the men’s open at the close of the first Vergara-Domogan Street Kids Football Cup.

The Baguio United Football Club once again leaned on the heroics of most valuable player Mohanad Farah to cap another win in the Goshen Land backed tournament in cooperation with the City Government of Baguio.

After placing second at the close of the eliminations, BUFC downed La Trinidad in their semis match, 3-1 to earn the first finals seat while top seeded Dolphins nosed out fellow out of towner Laoag, 1-0, to clinch the last finals seat.

La Trinidad then edged Laoag, 5-4, in the battle for third in the tournament aiming to raise funds for the seed money to help build the street kids’ shelter and start their educational and livelihood programs.

Goshen Land has already committed to donate a piece of land to build the home for street kids who will be faithful with their training in football and submit to the rules and regulations of the program.

Farah, for his effort, also brought home the best striker plum while the best midfielder went to Romnick Echin with best defender Ali Ymana and best goal keeper Nelson Gasic as Baguio City National High School took home the fair play award.

Ana Cabradilla of the multi-titled Baguio Ladies took home the MVP honors in the ladies open as Judith Doctolero was named the best defender, Jaja Obidos is best midfielder, Jana Cabradilla as best striker and Aloha Bocalan taking home the best goal keeper award.

Pines City National High School–Quezon Hill, meanwhile, topped the 16 and under girls division with Pines Barkada settling for first runner–up as Shalom MNHS and Dontogan salvaged the second and third runners-up honors.

Eloysa Fagsao won the most valuable player award while Flordeliza Tiwaked bagged the best striker award as Kara Alinsug took the best midfielder award with Catherine Clang and Mayla Madigyong taking the best defender and best goalie award.

BCNHS meanwhile won the 16 under division for boys with Dagsian United bagging the first runner-up honors with Laoag FC and Lubas Ole’s Y was second and third runner up.

Reggey Ubfan was the MVP in the division with Jessner Bocalan as the best striker, Spencer Galasa is best midfielder, Jemsley Dalisay is best defender and best goalie is Kenneth Mansueto.

Mansueto is also the best goalie in the 14 under division, while Ubfan was the MVP in the division with Jessner Bocalan as the best striker, Spencer Galasa is best midfielder, Jemsley Dalisay is best defender.

Kenneth Sibaen won the MVP honors in the 12 under division and was also named the best striker while the best midfielder is Justin Alviar, best defender is Samson Cabforo, and best goal keeper is Brently Gudaren.

In the 10 under division, MVP is Neo Escomiendo, best striker is Ricky Kim, best midfielder is Daniel Felix, best defender is Carlo Elaydo and best goalkeeper is Jon Bangsoy.

In the 8 under division, MVP is Joshua Francis, best goalkeeper is Joshua Kim best defender is Wanson (one name), best midfielder is Yehan Choi and best striker is Silas Muller.

Published in the Sun.Star Baguio newspaper on December 21, 2011.

No comments:

Post a Comment