19 July 2016

Ex-Azkals get reunion project with ex-coach as UFL All-Stars named

By Ivan Saldajeno

MAKATI--At least for one night, some of the members of the 2010 Azkals Suzuki Cup team that started the current revolution in the Philippine football scene will play together again.

The UFL revealed its All-Star team that will take on A-League outfit Perth Glory on Saturday at the Rizal Memorial Stadium.

In the press conference of the UFL All-Star Game on Tuesday night at The Beacon, Kaya's Aly Borromeo, Global's Jerry Barbaso, and Loyola's Jason De Jong, who were part of the 2010 Azkals that stunned Southeast Asia by making the semifinals of the region's most prestigious football tournament, were named to the UFL All-Stars that will be coached by Loyola mentor Simon McMenemy, who happened to be the coach of the 2010 Azkals squad that began their transformation from minnows into ASEAN football powerhouse.

Joining the four at the All-Star team are Stallion's Fitch Arboleda, Joshua Beloya, and Balut Doctora, Loyola's Kouichi Belgira, Daniel Gadia, Tahj Minniecon, and Jinggoy Valmayor, Kaya's Louis Clark, Shirmar Felongco, Robert Mendy, and Woody Ugarte, Voltes' Yu Hoshide and Masaki Yanagawa, and Global's Nick O'Donnell.

The match, scheduled for a 3:30 p.m. kickoff, will headline the UFL All-Star Saturday, which will also feature similar events from last year like a battle between Filipino players and foreign players and a fun game between 11 players from the seniors division and 100 players from the youth leagues.

For the part of Perth, the UFL All-Star Game will be the second of a three-game tuneup series in the Philippines which will kick off on Wednesday as they face Global at 3:30 p.m. at the said venue.

The said preseason tour culminates with a match on July 26 against the Azkals at the new Quirino Stadium in Vigan.

No comments:

Post a comment