18 November 2009

Alaska Cup - Ateneo de Davao girls seize crown

THE fighting Ateneo de Davao University (AdDU) girls soccer team did it again.

Thrust into another tough battle, the Ateneo 12-under squad seized its third straight crown in the annual Alaska Cup football tournament last Nov. 14-15 at the Ayala Country Club in Ayala, Alabang.

The Ateneo girls bagged the title after beating Mirriam College in thrilling finals, 2-1.

Down by a goal at halftime, Ateneo de Davao rallied with two goals in the second half to seal the victory.

Anna Aguilo scored the equalizer for Ateneo, then Mica Corrales hit the go-ahead goal to stun Mirriam College. Ateneo also topped the girls 12-under in the 2007 and 2008 editions of the Alaska Cup.

It was a stellar performance for the Ateneo booters as they crushed the opposition in the eliminaton phase before punctuating their run with pulsating win for the championship.

Ateneo made it a double celebration after Janna Barcemo was named Most Valuable Player (MVP) in the 12-under category.

Aside from Barcemo, Aguilo and Corrales, other memvbers of the team are Nina Arrieta, Alyanna Alovera, Bea Dongon, Kyra Paronda, Bea Panganiban, Therese Reyes and goalkeeper Gabby del Fierro.

In the girls 14-under category, Ateneo de Davao settled for second place after losing to powerhouse De La Salle-Zobel in the finals, 1-3.

Only Anna Aguilo was able to score in the finals for Ateneo, and the absence of striker Kyra Dimaandal also contributed to the team's failed bid for a twin kill.

Dimaandal missed the all-important match after suffering an injury in the semifinals against Makati Football Club.

Sun Star Davao

No comments:

Post a Comment